My Midlife Crisis

Maybe I should have bought a convertible, but instead, I’m taking a couple of college classes. That sounds simple enough, doesn’t it? Not so much. Either college is harder than when I previously attended, or my brain is foggy.

Yesterday a friend was asking about one of my classes. I said, “We’re currently talking about Maslov’s hierarchy of needs.”

Then I corrected, “No, it’s Maslow, isn’t it? Maslov is the dog guy.”

She laughed and said, “No, the dog guy is Pavlov.”

So, that’s kind of how it is, a mess of mixed-up facts and random connections.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about some things that are different this time around.

  1. Reading glasses.
  2. Instead of turning up the stereo while I study, I put in earplugs so I can think and keep the squirrels away.
    (To my family, the orange plugs in my ears might be a clue that I’m not listening to you.)
  3. Instead of staying out late, I now usually fall asleep trying to read.
  4. Being “hot” doesn’t mean what it used to.
  5. I’m not looking for a boyfriend.
  6. Most of my roommates now call me Mom.
  7. I haven’t been carded in over a decade.
  8. Young students comment about my “life experience.”
  9. I’m older than my advisor and some of my teachers.
  10. Instead of learning COBOL, FORTRAN, and BASIC computer code and picking up my printout at another building on campus, I’m blogging from my kitchen about going to college.
13 thoughts on “My Midlife Crisis

    1. Barb,
      I’m aiming to get through these two classes. :) Should I survive and continue, the classes are part of a master’s program in strategic leadership. (I know that is ironic.)

      1. As long as the program is not through C. Peter Wagner’s Leadership Institute I don’t find it ironic at all! You know more about leadership that most. :)

Leave a Reply

