A Teaser

I just started reading Between Noon and Three by Robert Farrar Capon.  Maybe next week I will post a few of his comments about grace.  Capon definitely flips religion upside down.  Meanwhile, I am also in a book club discussing The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer.  Bonhoeffer’s ideas about cheap grace seem to be such a contradiction to Capon’s perspective.  Anyway, the contrast is interesting.  Both books are causing me to consider my beliefs about grace.

The opening lines of Capon’s story of scandalous grace set in the context of adultery:

By and by, I want to tell you a story.  It will be about a man and a woman who actually succeed in getting away with something.  I think I shall make him a university professor and her a suburban housewife finishing some long-interrupted work on a master’s in English.  Paul, perhaps will do for his name: forty, tall, dark, and handsome.  And for hers?  Linda?  No, Linda is a waitress with a sad, uncomprehended history of failed romances.

Have you read this book?  What did you think?  Too extreme?

7 thoughts on “A Teaser

  1. Yes, I’ve read the book. Too extreme? That is exactly Capon’s point about grace. It is extreme…scandalous, even. If we are outraged that God might save those who are absolutely unworthy of Him, then perhaps we should look in the mirror a little more carefully. Does God’s extreme generosity (Matt 20:15) make grace cheap? I don’t think so. Someone had to pay for that grace…and it wasn’t me. Extreme grace requires an extreme sacrifice. I suspect that only those who are willing to invest a significant portion of their lives meditating on the Passion of Christ will understand the enormity of the sacrifice and the undeserved outpouring of generosity by God. Oh, how I wish I knew this 30 years ago.

  2. Okay, I know this will only solidify my heretic label even more, but here goes: I think Capon does not take it NEARLY far enough! I remember when I first read that book years ago how I could hardly believe grace could be that good. I remember weeping at the end of that book when I “saw” it at last. Now, years later, having finally MET Grace, I know it doesn’t go nearly far enough, though it’s a glorious beginning :).

  3. The teaser doesn’t seem extreme to me…it’s difficult–to say the least–for many Christians to accept the reality that all of us “get away” with so much sin.

    Tom

  4. haven’t read either,
    But I would agree that God’s grace is so extreme that it is really hard for most of us to wrap our little minds around it ( ok I mean my little mind).
    But, Having lived in that grace I know that the best of us is not nearly good enough and the worst of us aren’t bad enough that His grace can’t reach us.
    My 2 cents :D
    Peace Be with you.

Leave a Reply

