Review: Recover Your Good Heart

Recover Your Good Heart

~by Jim Robbins

Living free from religious guilt and the shame of not good-enough

About fully understanding the new heart and its new nature with the desire and ability to do God’s will, and discipleship and spiritual growth as a process of internal transformation rather than external behavior modification.

At times I felt that book oversimplified the journey of restoration, yet that was probably in order to keep the emphasis on the truth of a radically new heart.  The author clearly intended to overcome the message of sinfulness of the heart and communicate that the heart of a believer is supernaturally changed at their new birth and by nature enlivened with the nature of God.

In a way, the book is very basic, yet the truths are profound enough to be life-changing for anyone who lives under the shame and condemnation of feeling that they continually fall short in their Christian walk.  Sadly there are many Christians who do feel that way because it is the predominant message taught in most churches.

I would recommend this book to anyone who would like to begin to experience the reality of spiritual life lived out of the reality of a renewed heart.  I also would highly recommend it as a basic discipleship book for new believers so that they can perhaps avoid the treadmill of religious performance that too many Christians find themselves on.

I believe strongly in the message of this book – that transformation in the life of the believer must be an outflow of the work of the Spirit within their reborn heart.  In order for that to occur one must first have a clear understanding of the supernatural renewal of their nature and identity in Christ.  That message is clearly spelled out in this book.

You can read more about the book and study guide on Jim’s blog.

3 thoughts on “Review: Recover Your Good Heart

  1. Thanks for the review Grace. I am a big believer in the believers good heart because my life changed so much when I embraced my good heart and began to live from it.

    A few years ago I spent several sessions with a friend who kept telling me that his heart was desperately wicked. It was glorious to see his face when he got it and understood that his heart was changed and is good.

    So often we are taught to not trust our good hearts and we consequently lean on our own understanding instead. This approach often sadly leads to a brainy legalistic interpretation of faith replete with fundamentalist dogma and formulaic literalism.

    Well, I’m off to check out Jim’s blog!

    Blessings, Bob

  2. My journey away from performance based structures and towards a Christ centred faith began with listening to my heart. My only regret is not listening sooner. I am now confident that Christ has redeemed my heart.

    Here’s a bit of trivia that rocked my world and dovetails with Kansas Bob’s comments on the wicked heart: nowhere in the epistles are believers ever referred to as “sinners” (I have to credit my friend Murat with that tidbit). Sinners, without exception, refers to those who are living without the presence of God in their life. I have sat through countless sermons where I, and those around me, have been called sinners. Though we do sin, we are not sinners: our hearts have been made new and our nature is to do good. The battle for control of our nature has been won by Christ, and while we are not perfect, we are on the winning side. We want to please Jesus.

    While there has recently been some great scholarly stuff on the christian nature by Gordon Fee, Douglas Moo and a few others, there has been a dearth of popular exposition. I will definitely check out Robbins.

  3. Bob and David,
    Thank you for sharing your experiences. Knowing the reality of a restored, redeemed heart is foundational for genuine growth and maturity in our relationship with God. It is sad that this is such an area of confusion among believers. It seems that Romans 6-8 are a complete mystery to many christians.

Leave a Reply

