The Missional Threshold

From Brad Sargent’s What Is Missional? synchroblog entry:

The real question that some North American churches, ministries, and agencies are fighting over is WHO is “missional”? As if we are all Dogs Who Love the Lord and are trying to mark our territory.

There is something about the word missional that everyone wants to claim, as if to not be missional would be a disgrace.  “Well of course I’m missional!”

The reality is that most believers have not been trained in missional thinking or living.  Making that kind of change requires a process of inner transformation that will go much deeper than adopting the latest buzz word.

I have been trying to allow the Holy Spirit to teach me to live present to the people in my daily life and in the sphere of people I encounter. It continually requires changing the way that I view people and ministry. It is difficult moving very far beyond the circle that centers around our immediate needs.

I recently ran across something that I wrote about The Wall in the stages of faith…

This is the missional threshold – the point in our journey that determines whether we will remain consumers of religious goods and services or allow ourselves to be transformed into missional agents of God’s love and redemption to the world.

Sometimes, I still just want a program to sign up for, a service to attend
(like maybe an episcopalian service). It really isn’t about trying harder, but whether we will yield to that degree of inner transformation.

6 thoughts on “The Missional Threshold

  1. As I’ve said elsewhere, for too many, “missional” is the new secret sauce to add to programmatic Christendom. By changing the names of our programs to include the word, “missional”, we are now a missional church. I want to be part of the missional worship team programming the missional TV screens with missional shots of missional worshippers raising their missional hands to… well… I’m not actually sure, to who? Or is that whom?

  2. Henri Nouwen had it in a nutshell – the Love of God starts in solitude,moves outwards towards our friends and family and then further outward to those in need.He demonstrated in his own life by living in L’arch Community, Toronto Not an add on but the essence of it all.

    Charlie

  3. Who is missional? this should not be a question those of us who are partakers of the Kingdom ARE missional. You said it and I agree, “I have been trying to allow the Holy Spirit to teach me to live present to the people in my daily life and in the sphere of people I encounter.”

  4. In our small group the other night, our senior pastor, of 31 years of age made this insightful comment. “I believe that if we follow what the early fellowship of believers did–the main 4–I believe that missional will automatically happen.”
    I reflected on that idea. See what you think.
    Acts 2:42-47
    42They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to the fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer. 43Everyone was filled with awe, and many wonders and miraculous signs were done by the apostles. 44All the believers were together and had everything in common. 45Selling their possessions and goods, they gave to anyone as he had need. 46Every day they continued to meet together in the temple courts. They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts, 47praising God and enjoying the favor of all the people. And the Lord added to their number daily those who were being saved.

Leave a Reply

