Five Ways Blogging Has Changed My Life

Awhile back Cindy asked (but didn’t really answer) the question, “How have you changed since you began blogging?”

Soon after, I was tagged by Brother Maynard for this meme.

So here goes…

  1. Knowing Stuff

    I am more educated and balanced theologically (which might not be saying much).  I am more informed about global conditions and justice issues.  I am more liberal in many ways.  I know lots of stuff I wouldn’t know if I didn’t blog.

  2. Not Knowing Stuff

    Recently I cut down from almost 200 to just a handful of blogs that I read.  I am going through withdrawal.  I don’t like being less informed and the fact that I am missing good conversations. I only kept the friends that I have been reading and dialoguing with over the years and a couple of the cool kids who don’t know I exist.  (You have to click on the links to appreciate just how cool these guys are.)  ;)

  3. Writing

    Through blogging I discovered that I really enjoy writing. Conversationally, I am not especially articulate. It has always been much easier for me to explain myself in writing. The feedback which blogging provides gives me perspective from outside the internal loop of my own thoughts, and it’s cheaper than therapy.

  4. Made Me A Misfit

    You are all like voices in the back of my head – contrary voices. The problem with that is, for the most part, I agree with you.

  5. Relationships

    The greatest treasure that I discovered in blogging is the friendships that developed along the way.  This is also one of my greatest frustrations with blogging.  Sometimes I want hugs without parentheses. I want to look in your eyes and watch your face when you talk. I need coffee with steam and ale with foam.  It frustrates me that I will likely never get to know you in any other way.

I will tag 5 people who have been blogging long enough to wonder why:

1. Cindy
2. Jamie – just posted about this.
3. Sonja
4. Makeesha
5. Bill, although you don’t strike me as the meme type :)
.
Do it if you want, no pressure, and anyone else who is interested, go for it and leave your link in the comments so we can read your post.

Here are the rules :
1. 5 specific ways blogging has affected you, either positively or negatively.
2. link back to the person who tagged you
3. link back to the parent post
4. tag a few friends or five, or none at all
5. post these rules — or just have fun breaking them

12 thoughts on “Five Ways Blogging Has Changed My Life

  1. Grace,

    I’m right with you on 4 and 5, sister! Just left a comment over at Jaime’s blog–thanks for that link!

    I’m approaching my first anniversary later this months, so I’ll probably do a bit of an introspection at that time.

    In the meantime–thanks for being my “virtual” friend….

  2. when asked once what “postmodern ministry” was all about, i responded that “you take everything you know about how to minister, run it through a knothole backward, and you’ve got it”!

    always one to suggest turning things inside out, how about as an intriguing twist on this meme, perhaps we all should invite five other people to blog about “how our blogging changed their life.” i suspect that has happened as well, in smaller or larger ways.

    anyway, your life makes a difference, grace, and your blog makes a difference – thanks …

  3. Hi peggy,
    I was going to say “one is the loneliest number”, but then Brad showed up, and I can’t remember what they say about the number two. :)

    I’m glad you are my virtual friend too. Even though I won’t meet many of these friends, it does encourage me to consider that my friend Peggy in the NW is pressing into this missional journey every day, just like I am, and there are so many others scattered around the globe, people whose faces, lives, and circumstances I imagine and occasionally pray for.

    Thanks brad! Knowing that you blog, dream, teach, reflect, and do all that you do while dealing with some difficult circumstances inspires me. I’m glad that you’ve chosen to share your reflections.

  4. “…two can be as bad as one. It’s the loneliest number since the number one…” is how it goes, if my 3 Dog Night memory serves! (Which it might not.) LOL!

    But Brad and I are two of the four at The Abbey, so we hardly even feel like we are lonely! 8)

    Grace, the Body of Christ is getting a finer tuned focus every day, and the internet has a lot to do with that … amazing!

  5. Oh, I totally love the one about blogging being cheaper than therapy.

    (I just crafted my final report to post on Monday, and I think I’m going to go back and put that one in! with a link to you of course : )

  6. steve,
    I thought about tagging you, but I wasn’t sure if you would want to break your non-posting streak. I’m glad that you are still coming around here to read and comment. :)

    cindy,
    Ahem? What?
    I’m talking about you while you’re away basking on the beach?
    You already posted about this and I missed it or forgot?
    Thanks for being one of my first blog friends!

    LLBarkat,
    I’ll be sure to stop in and see your final report.

  7. I am so out of it, I’m reading this on the 5th – when I’d normally read you within a matter of hours of your posting. Thanks for the tag… we’ll just have to see whether I’ll remember to play.

Leave a Reply

