Book Meme

I was tagged by Charlie for the book meme that’s been going around. I have seen it on quite a few blogs already. It is always interesting to see what others are reading at the moment.

  • Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pages).
  • Open the book to page 123.
  • Find the fifth sentence.
  • Post the next three sentences.
  • Tag five people.

I have been on a fiction binge. Last weekend I read the Circle Trilogy – Black, Red, and White – by Ted Dekker. I highly recommend it, great imagery of God, Jesus, and the kingdom, amid an interesting, can’t-put-it-down story that had me reading when I should have been working and sleeping.

This week I grabbed the latest by Kristen Heitzmann to keep me company at the gym. Echoes is the third book in a series that I have enjoyed reading. Maybe a little sappy for the guys, but just right for me, and it had some great imagery of the power of community to heal and invite others into relationship.

This was the nearest book today, so here are the sentences for the meme…

“At night in our room he’d creep up to my bed to hear me breathing. I’d tell him to get back before the monsters chewed his ankles, but I meant before someone heard him. If Dad knew he was afraid of the dark…”

I am going to tag 5 people that I don’t think I have tagged before.

8 thoughts on “Book Meme

  1. Grace
    I don’t have a blog, but I just wanted to let you know that I read the Ted Dekker books last year. I loved them. I love his writing. If you haven’t read Heaven’s wager and the other two that go with it, I highly recommend those.

  2. Thanks Maria!

    Jen,
    I have read most of his other books, but I think these might be my favorites. I loved Elyon, the lake, and Justin, so many redemptive themes woven into the story.

  3. Dekker has helped me understand God outside of the box…and he’s just plain fun to read. I have a hard time putting the books down too, but how can you read the trilogy in one weekend? Are the weekends longer in the States? If so, then I’m moving south.

  4. Hey, I tagged Sarah today as well.. great minds must work on the same timetable.. not sure what that has to do with this though :)

  5. Hehehe…this one is really moving fast! I got the “internet” tag from Brother Maynard, then your tag to VikingFru hit me and Sonja hit me too! 8)

    I told everyone that mine with be up on my site tomorrow…too late tonight!

  6. David,
    I only planned on reading “Black.” I couldn’t believe it ended with such a cliff-hanger! So I found the other 2 at the library and had to read to the end.

    I read fiction several times faster than other books, but I was also a little short on sleep that weekend. :)

    A suggestion for others, don’t even start this series unless you plan on reading all three books.

    Lori, Bob, Sarah, and Peggy,
    I checked out your posts. Thanks for playing!

Leave a Reply

