Pagan Christianity

I am really wishing I had time to finish reading and to review this book now, but soon. In the meantime, if you haven’t read the book yet yourself, this site has some information about the book. The introduction and first chapter are available as a sample. There is also a bonus chapter you could read. Most useful is the author’s interactions with some of the objections raised thus far. I highly recommend reading his perspective before forming an opinion about the book based on blogs and reviews.

6 thoughts on “Pagan Christianity

  1. “I highly recommend reading his perspective before forming an opinion about the book based on blogs and reviews.?

    LOL! Of the people who have to say anything about a book, the ratio between those who have read it and who have not appears to be about 1:9. Hopefully it will change.

    Happy new year.

  2. Have you ever wondered why we Christians do what we do for church every Sunday morning? Why do we “dress up” for church? Why does the pastor preach a sermon each week? Why do we have pews, steeples, choirs, and seminaries? This volume reveals the startling truth: most of what Christians do in present-day churches is not rooted in the New Testament, but in pagan culture and rituals developed long after the death of the apostles. Coauthors Frank Viola and George Barna support their thesis with compelling historical evidence in the first-ever book to document the full story of modern Christian church practices.

    At the risk of spouting my opinion before I’ve read it, this introduction looks promising indeed. Too bad I have enforced a book-ban in my house until all the other delicious books we have bought in the past are read (will take a couple of years for sure)!

  3. So true David, although I’m sure I am guilty of commenting (not posting) a time or two about a book I’ve not read. Hope you have a great year!

    Alex,
    I agree, and in spite of what some have said, I don’t see the authors’ intent as tearing down the entire history of the church, but rather pointing out the origins of tradition. The reader can they make their own conclusions about the value of specific traditions and practices.

    I’m trying to decide if I should even attempt to get through all of the books in my house, or perhaps just declare some of them unread and no longer interested.

  4. At the risk of spouting my opinion before I read the book, from what I’ve read I think I may quite disagree with the authors (although I still intend on buying and reading the whole book). Here’s why I say this: I wouldn’t disagree that a lot of our practices are unbiblical, or even taken from pegans. Why is that wrong? You see, when you take something away from somebody, it is important to replace it with something better. So, if there was a pegan practice, it would make sense to say, “You can’t do that, but it’s working, so let’s make it about God.” Get what I mean?

    Also, I thought about how practices are, quite often, neither good nor bad. The author(s) claim tha some of these past practices actually create a wall between us and God. And it might, for some people. Which is why we were instructed in the bible that eating meat was neither inherantly good nor bad, but only as it was to each consumer.

    Anyway, just my thoughts. Thanks Grace! I look forward to reading the book.

  5. emerging change,
    After I’ve read the book, I hope to address specific practices and whether they are good or bad. Hope you’ll join in the discussion.

    Ed,
    I am just starting reading it, but I hope to have my review and the ensuing discussion started soon.

Leave a Reply

