The Emerging Kingdom

I’ve been wanting to write this post as an introductory explanation about my blog name change, but I’ve had some difficulty finding the words.

In spite of the fact that on the personality test I score high as a Thinker, in many ways I am more of a Senser or Feeler. I usually have feelings and impressions long before I ever find words for them.

I enjoy discovering other people who have the words that express the things I am sensing. One of the things that drew me into the emerging conversation was a resonance with the thoughts and ideas that emerging bloggers were discussing.

When I named my previous blog emerging grace, I didn’t really know or understand emergent, the emerging church, or the emerging movement. I had no particular allegiance to emerging as a movement.

Over the years there were things that I came to love about those who were emerging. I was never ashamed or embarrassed that the name of my blog associated me with this movement.

I believe that the emerging movement, knowingly or unknowingly, has been a part of a transformation that God desires in the church. Many have followed in obedience to an intentional shift that they perceive in what God is doing.

One aspect of this transformation is a greater understanding and revelation of the kingdom of God and our identity as the people of God in relation to His kingdom.

There are aspects of the emerging movement that may fall short of fully emerging, and aspects of the movement may systemize under other labels such as missional. We will always see the tendency to contain and take ownership of what God is doing, to name and brand and build monuments that give us a sense of place and position.

However, possibly under the radar, there will also continue to be a movement of God’s people living into the prophetic imagination of expressing His kingdom on earth.

I hope that this blog will reflect my growing understanding and participation in expressing the kingdom of God.

More on this later.

7 thoughts on “The Emerging Kingdom

  1. I like your ‘possibly under the radar’ phrase and would encourage you in that prophetic imagination. It is easy to get everything, even the ‘latest thing’ pigeon-holed, yet I’m sure ‘eye has not seen, ear has not heard…’ And so some will have to keep searching it out. Grace to you in the process.

  2. “We will always see the tendency to contain and take ownership of what God is doing, to name and brand and build monuments that give us a sense of place and position.”

    Babel, anyone?

    (Grace, you have an amazing voice regardless of “name”, and eventually you’ve been able to grasp those words that DO express your thinking and impressions. I imagine that will continue in the future as it has occurred in the past :) ).

  3. “However, possibly under the radar, there will also continue to be a movement of God’s people living into the prophetic imagination of expressing His kingdom on earth.”

    Grace you are articulate with your words! It sums up my thoughts exactly in my last really really badly written post on your blog. I love the name change, it sums up what its all about really. Looking forward to hearing what God is teaching you on this journey!

  4. Sonja, Cindy, Robin,
    I am truly grateful for my blogging sisters! Thank you for your friendship and encouragement.

    Rowley,
    I find myself drawn to the dreamers and those who are still searching, and so I am always happy to find those familiar voices.

    Nathanael,
    I don’t remember a poorly written comment. You must learn that the commentors and comments here are always brilliant. :)

Leave a Reply

