Tuesday Tidbits

…because the post entitled Monday Miscellaney didn’t get done.

We spent a quiet Thanksgiving with just our immediate family, sharing a virus.

My appliances were delivered on Wednesday. Our holiday weekend included the bonding experience of do-it-yourself installation of the microwave and dishwasher. Other than a gash to my husband’s forehead, it went well.

Yesterday was my husband’s birthday. We had a nice family dinner at our favorite Chinese restaurant. I gave him the book “Night” by Elie Wiesel and the dvd “Monty Python and the Holy Grail.” They are kind of a contradiction, but he’s a complex guy. :)

I think it’s about time I get some “emergingish” books. I’ve read plenty online, but haven’t invested in a “new movement” library. Often I lose interest in books before I ever buy them. Also, I’m tired of tossing “old movement” books.Here are some that I am considering:
1. Shaping of Things to Come – of course.
2. Exiles – pretty sure I want this one.
3. Forgotten Ways – hopeful about this one.
4. Permission Granted – because Robby liked it.
5. Chasing Daylight – a local book club is discussing this in January.
6. Organic Church – maybe.

Feel free to post your recommendations in the comments.

14 thoughts on “Tuesday Tidbits

  1. Hi Grace –

    You definitely want 1) and 2), and I can also recommend Roxburgh/Romanuk’s “The Missional Leader”. 6) is decent. Email me, patloughery at sign gmail, and i’ll send you a quick review i did of it. similar to it is “liquid church”.

    Hope that helps…

  2. grace – having read 1), and i have to go and get 2) this week, the only other book is one that i have also been recommended which is, blue like jazz.

  3. Gibbs and Bolger’s Emerging Churches is a must read! Also, Kimball and Pagitt have many good things to say in their books.
    – Alan

  4. I don’t know any emergingish but I really enjoyed “Red Moon Rising” and I am liking “Rekindling Your Spirit” after attending the conference of the same name.

  5. Definitely get Cole’s Organic Church. It’s just so clear. I’ve known him for a long time and it’s a good distillation of his thinking that has developed over well more than a decade. He’s also got a movement of home churches there to prove it’s very real!

    – Alister

  6. Grace
    The fact that your husband wanted both the book “Night” and Monty Python “Search for the Holy Grail” is so COOL! I have loved Monty Python for many years though at times I find some of the stuff a little off, but still love it. I have recently just read “Night” and found it to very profound in my journey toward healing and a greater understanding for me need of a savior.

    No thoughts on books though. Haven’t read any, but I might read the one robbymac blogged about.

  7. Thanks everyone for sharing your thoughts about books. I definitely keep them in mind. Now I’m off to visit amazon and work on my wish list.

  8. I have to absolutely recommend The Post-Evangelical by Dave Tomlinson. It’s my favorite emergingish book so far.

    I blogged about it a while ago (and scanned a few of the pages) at my old blog.

  9. I have to echo robbymac on a “A New Kind Of Christian” it was a very important book for me as was McClaren’s “More Ready Than You Realize”

    and ditto on “The Celtic Way Of Evangelism” I had G. Hunter as a professor and valued his insights a great deal!

    But i still think the early years of the Dare Devil comic books are my favorite reads

Leave a Reply

