Blogging Dudes

In the interest of diversity and fairness, it seems that we should have a post to bring attention to some of the blogs written by men that resonate with readers. I would like to know which blogs by men others are reading and why they identify with them.

Obviously some of my favorite male bloggers (that I have discovered so far) are on my blogroll. In order to prevent competition or bruised egos, I will refrain from saying who my most favorites are.

I identify with the blogs that I read for various reasons. There are those I view as someone to follow. I learn from their writing and experience. There are others who seem to be at a similar place on their journey. It’s helpful to learn from them as they wrestle with the same issues. Finally, there are some whose writing and personality I find entertaining.

If you would like to comment on some of your favorite male bloggers, we could perhaps compile a list from those comments. Before the list is presented though, it’s critical to point out that it isn’t possible to compile an exhaustive list, and some important men bloggers may be missing from the list. Many of the men tend to blogroll one another, so by starting with those listed here and with a minor amount of further digging, you can easily find a treasure trove of dudebloggers.

20 thoughts on “Blogging Dudes

  1. Okay, this is difficult, but here goes:
    1. Jesus The Radical Pastor – John Frye – always thoughtful, challenges me to think of Jesus in ways I wish I could, and always passionate.
    2. Subversive Influence – Brother Maynard – The bro’ thinks in a much wider range than I feel capable so I’m always exposed to good thinking…also, there’s a bit of humility here that expresses itself in a genuine desire to encourage others.
    3. The Jesus Creed – Scot McKnight – Good topics (Kingdom of God, Lord’s Prayer, Conversion, etc.) and lots of action on the comments. Nice to have a professional theologian interact w/ normal people.
    4. Backyard Missionary – Andrew Hamilton – some of the most “edgey” thinking about what it means to be missional thatI’ve encountered in the blogosphere.

    That’s all I’ll list…for now.

  2. Fr’nklin has some good ones there. I’d add:

    Tall Skinny Kiwi – Andrew Jones – global perspective, witty, deep and very aware of the blogosphere
    Theoblogy – Tony Jones – depth, honesty and passionate
    Emergent Voyageurs – Jamie Arpin-Ricci – a missional Canadian living/ministering in the inner city

    That represents blogs coming out of 3 coutries.

    James

  3. Hey grace…
    I’m not sure I understood what you were asking me…but I think you actually link to 3 of the 4 sites I mentioned. The only one I didn’t see you linking to was Scot McKnight’s The Jesus Creed. Did I miss something??? I’m slow today…late night and an early morning…

    Oh, and James…very nice choices!

    BTW, grace, you’re in my top 5…but your not a man…that’s why I only gave you 4 sites…!

    Peace.

  4. Aw thanks Franklin!

    I was asking about your personal blog sites. When I’ve looked you up I end up at several sites, and I wondered which one you would recommend linking to.

    Or maybe I’m just confused. :)

    I read Scot frequently from the planet emergent site. In fact his post today was a favorite of mine.

    Peace to you too.

  5. LOL…man, it has been a LONG day! Okay, so my site is:

    http://www.paradoxum.squarespace.com

    This is the site I work at…I just cut and paste to the blogspot site.

    I’m going to have a new one soon (readthinkpray) – I’m trying to blog with my youth group through two different devotionals. I’ll blog 3 times a week for my HS (Enjoy The Silence by Duffy Robins) and 2 times a week for MS (Memorize This, Navigators). I’m hoping our youth will interact w/ me on the site…an experiment…we’ll see if it becomes a kind of corporate devotional…if it works I’ll tell you about it. Thanks!

  6. Hmm. You’ve already got most of my list. I’d suggest looking at NextReformation.com, which is written by Len Hjalmarson. Since coming to Kelowna a few weeks ago, Len and his family have embraced us and welcomed us to the area (our daughters are in the same high school, as well).

    It’s made the transition from Winnipeg a little easier, although I really miss hanging out with Brother Maynard, Jamie Arpin-Ricci, and Grey Owl. Great guys, all.

  7. In order to prevent a testosterone-filled competition or bruised egos…

    Oh yeah…like that’ll happen! (And ‘dudeblogger’ is definitely the word of the day!)

  8. I love brother buck- you gotta check out his web. He’s a christian, his wife is helping in the relief effort and he brings up some interesting thoughts. My favorite is his blog about his super hero son…

  9. oh, by the way, I just started my own blog if you want to peek at it.

    It has a lot of typos already, just trying to figure things out..

  10. Cindy, great additions.

    Robby, Len’s site was one of the first places I used to read before I even knew what a blog was. I think an article of his showed up when I was googling about church issues.

    Jamie, of course you are on there. I updated my links tonight to include you also.

    Rhymes,(can I call you that?), you are a dudeblogger, right?

    Jane, it’s nice to see you here. Good luck with getting your blog up and running.

    Tammy Jo, it’s nice to meet you. I’m glad you like the picture too. It makes me smile.

    This has been fun, and some great blog sites have been mentioned.

    Later dudes and chicks!

  11. Hey Tammy Jo,

    Watch the balding jokes, eh? There’s no good way on the planet to go bald with any sense of dignity, hence the tendency to just get all extreme and shave what little is left.

  12. I keep an eye on:

    Saintday
    The Weary Pilgrim

    I find these men to be real, raw and challenging – transparent and thought provoking.

    Sorry i don’t know how to link those but the addy’s are:

    thewearypilgrim.typepad.com, saintday.blogspot.com,

    Toasted Liquid is good too= toastedliquid.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

