More on Communities of Transformation

What do you think of this?

Find friends and form a family who are willing to see grace at work in another’s lives, who can discern together which gifts and which crosses each has been called to bear. Find people who have a holy respect for power and a holy willingness to spend their power alongside the powerless. Find some partners in the wild and wonderful world beyond church doors.

Andy Crouch, Culture-Making,  (ht David Fitch)

You try and you fail. You try again. You make room for one person at a time, you give one chance at a time, and each of these choices of the heart stretches your ability to receive others. This is how we grow more hospitable — by welcoming one person when the opportunity is given to you.

Daniel Homan and Lonni Pratt, Radical Hospitality
(ht Brad Brisco)

6 thoughts on “More on Communities of Transformation

  1. I like the first comment – it is way better working with people in the same boat on the same river riding the same current. Power and powerlessness side by side an amazing thought.

    The second comment causes a little concern – I think it is an adjective – but why do we put these terms in front I.e) radical hospitality, power evangelism, – you know what I mean? like we practice hospitality – it’s not radical, it’s Biblical, it’s what is required – our home is open home.

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I’m just kicking around these ideas and wanted a place to look at them and remember them. There are a lot of values and ideas wrapped up in those few sentences.

    Mark, it probably shouldn’t be radical, but sometimes it feels that way, and it certainly is countercultural today. I worry that I don’t have the capacity to care about very many people, but then I remember that I shouldn’t be relying on me and my abilities.

  3. Grace, thanks for the shout out . . . this is such a wonderful little book. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

    Mark, agreed it could simply be “biblical hospitality.” That title was probably already taken :) However the book’s sub-titled is “Benedict’s Way of Love” which I think speaks to the radical nature of Benedict’s rule, which in our American context is most certainly radical.

Leave a comment